Welcoming Center Announces New Appointments to Board of Directors

Philadelphia, PA (November 6, 2017) – The Welcoming Center for New Pennsylvanians has announced six new directors to its Board of Directors for Fiscal Year 2018. The new appointments are: Bob Aglira, Temple University; Daniel P. Bauder, Philadelphia Council AFL-CIO; Patricia Boshuizen, KPMG; Hao-Li Loh; Priscilla Rosenwald, Leadership Recruiters; Archna Sahay, J Nowak Strategy.

The Welcoming Center is a nonprofit organization that accelerates immigrant integration and economic advancement through education, training, employment, and entrepreneurship. Board members are responsible for financial oversight, strategic planning, and providing guidance on mission and objectives. Welcoming Center board members are a vital part of making sure the organization fulfills its mission.

“’Home’ takes on a different notion when you are an immigrant,” says Archna Sahay of J Nowak Strategy. “Place and people become equally important in feeling that you belong, that you are home. Philadelphia is the first place of all the places I have lived in the U.S. since emigrating from India that feels like home to me. Philadelphia is a welcoming, supportive and connected community due in large part to the efforts of Welcoming Center for New Pennsylvanians. I am honored to join the board of Welcoming Center and to work alongside so many inspiring individuals. I look forward to helping extend the reach and impact of the organization to future citizens. #WelcomingWorks!”

The six new directors will be joining the Welcoming Center Board of Directors comprised of: Board Chair, Anuj Gupta, Reading Terminal Market; Board Vice Chair, John Touey, Salveson Stetson Group; Board Secretary, David M. Albert, Esq., Cozen O’Connor; Board Treasurer, Natalie Barndt, Eisenhower Fellowships; Alexandre Costabile, Wawa; Vincent Finn, Consulate General of Canada; Peter J. Gonzales, Esq., President & CEO of the Welcoming Center for New Pennsylvanians; Jack Heuer, Ed.D., University of Pennsylvania; John P. Hilferty, Jr., Independence Blue Cross; Lee Huang, Econsult Solutions, Inc.; Shirin Karsan, Global Bioethics Initiative; Ade Lawal, Express Employment Services; Mary J. Mullany, Esq., Ballard Spahr LLP; Anne O’Callaghan, Welcoming Center for New Pennsylvanians; Tarvinder Sembhi, Baaj Group, LLC.

Outgoing members of the Board are: Patrick Eiding, Philadelphia Council AFL-CIO; Marc A. Goldich, Esq., Axler Goldich LLC; Hon. David H. Oh, City of Philadelphia.

About the Welcoming Center for New Pennsylvanians: The Welcoming Center for New Pennsylvanians is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization based in Philadelphia. It believes that a steady influx of new customers, workers, and entrepreneurs can reinvigorate Pennsylvania’s aging population, renew its neighborhoods, and re-energize the economy. The organization works closely with government agencies, service providers, employers, business associations, trade unions, and economic development groups.

Contact: Lina Duffy, 215.825.7770, lina@welcomingcenter.org